Stories of Technology, Innovation, & Entrepreneurship in the Southeast

Knoxville Business News Tennessee Mountain Scenery Background
May 20, 2012 | Tom Ballard

Five ORNL researchers selected for DOE honor

Nine individuals from the South, including four from Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), are among 68 scientists from across the nation who will receive up to $18.9 million in funding for research grants as part of Department of Energy’s (DOE) “Early Career Research Program.” DOE Secretary Steven Chu made the announcements on Friday afternoon.

The ORNL researchers are Wei-Ren Chen, Nicholas Commaux, Daniel J. Hayes, and Steven D. Pain. The other five winners included two researchers from the University of Georgia and one each from Florida State University, University of Kentucky, and Vanderbilt University.

Like what you've read?

Forward to a friend!

Don’t Miss Out on the Southeast’s Latest Entrepreneurial, Business, & Tech News!

Sign-up to get the Teknovation Newsletter in your inbox each morning!

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

No, thanks!