National organization of university-based entrepreneur programs presents annual awards

The Global Consortium of Entrepreneurship Centers (GCEC) recently recognized a number of universities across nine award categories and two individuals during its annual conference that celebrated creativity and innovation in university-based entrepreneurship education.

Founded 25 years ago and headquartered within the Rice (University) Alliance for Technology and Innovation, the organization has more than 250 members including international programs.

This year’s honorees were:

  • Outstanding Emerging Entrepreneurship Center (schools with less than 5,000 students): Lafayette College’s Dyer Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship.
  • Outstanding Emerging Entrepreneurship Center (schools with more than 5,000 students): Both James Madison University’s Gilliam Center for Entrepreneurship and Nova Southeastern University’s Alan B. Levan-NSU Broward Center of Innovation.
  • Outstanding Contributions to Venture Creation: Both the Schulze School of Entrepreneurship at the University of St. Thomas (Minnesota) and Texas A&M University Syste’s, TEES DeepTech Ventures.
  • Exceptional Activities in Entrepreneurship Across Disciplines: Northeastern University’s Center for Entrepreneurship Education.
  • Excellence in Specialty Entrepreneurship Education: Houston Community College’s Entrepreneurial Initiatives.
  • Excellence in Entrepreneurship Teaching and Pedagogical Innovation: Stanford University’s Technology Ventures Program.
  • Outstanding Student Engagement & Leadership (schools with less than 5,000 students): London Business School’s Institute of Entrepreneurship and Private Capital.
  • Outstanding Student Engagement & Leadership (schools with more than 5,000 students): Marquette University’s 707 Hub.
  • Exceptional Contributions in Entrepreneurship Research: Florida Atlantic University’s Adams Center for Entrepreneurship.
  • GCEC Center of Entrepreneurial Leadership: University of Nevada Las Vegas’ Troesh Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation.

The Nasdaq “Center for Entrepreneurial Excellence Award,” the highest honor presented during the conference, has traditionally recognized a single program each year but was expanded last year to recognize the best from a university with less than 5,000 students and the best from one with more than 5,000. This year’s winners were: (1) The Arthur M. Blank Center for Entrepreneurship at Babson College (less than 5,000 students); and (2) the Pappajohn Center for Entrepreneurship at Iowa State University (more than 5,000 students).

Two legacy awards honored individuals for their pioneering work advancing entrepreneurship in universities and/or directing a university entrepreneurship center that created a legacy impact on the field. Those recipients were: (1) Duncan Moore, Rudolf and Hilda Kingslake Professor in Optical Engineering Science, Professor of Optics and Biomedical Engineering, and Professor of Business Administration at the University of Rochester’s William E. Simon Graduate School of Business Administration; and (2) Carol Reeves, Associate Vice Provost for Entrepreneurship and the Cecil and Gwendolyn Cupp Applied Professorship in Entrepreneurship at the University of Arkansas’ Sam M. Walton College of Business.



Stay connected with us on Twitter and LinkedIn. Article ideas and other suggestions should be sent to Include the name and contact information (phone and email) for follow-up.