Stories of Technology, Innovation, & Entrepreneurship in the Southeast

Knoxville Business News Tennessee Mountain Scenery Background
July 20, 2023 | Tom Ballard

Additional speakers, daily themes announced for “Southeast Energy Policy Forum”

The three-day event from the new Baker School for Public Policy and Public Affairs mirrors the role that its namesake played in convening critical conversations in the areas of energy markets, policy, and the environment.

More speakers and daily themes have been announced for the “Southeast Energy Policy Forum” that is scheduled for mid-August on the campus of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville (UTK).

It is the first event hosted by the new Baker School of Public Policy and Public Affairs since the former Center named for the late Howard H. Baker Jr. became a degree-granting academic program. The daily themes are:

  • August 16 – The Forces Driving our Energy Future;
  • August 17 – The Evolution of Energy Technologies and Economics; and
  • August 18 – How Policy will Determine our Path to a Zero-Carbon Future.

The School noted in its promotional materials that former Senator Baker championed the “Clean Air and Clean Water Act” and was a leader in convening critical conversations in the areas of energy markets, policy, and the environment. The “Southeast Energy Policy Forum” is designed to offer an accelerated information-sharing platform and networking opportunity for public and private sector leaders as the Southeast moves towards a zero-carbon future.

Previously announced speakers include (1) Chad Autry, Associate Dean for Research and Faculty in UTK’s Haslam College of Business; (2) Phil Bredesen, former Governor of Tennessee and Founding Chair of Silicon Ranch Corporation; (3) Russell Gold, an author and journalist with Texas Monthly and formerly The Wall Street Journal; (4) Mike Howard, Chair of the World Energy Council and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Emeritus of EPRI; (5) Shameek Konar, former CEO of Pilot Company; and (6) Jeff Lyash, President and CEO of the Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA).

Newly named speakers include (1) Timothy Fitzgerald, Associate Professor in the Rawls College of Business at Texas Tech University; (2) Joe Hoagland, TVA’s Vice President for Enterprise Relations and Innovation; (3) David McCollum, Senior Scientist at Oak Ridge National Laboratory; (4) Karl Meeusen, Director of Markets, Legislative and Regulatory Policy for Wärtsilä of North America Inc.; (5) Clay Rikard, Vice President of System Planning for the Southern Company; and (6) UTK faculty members Neeraj Bharadwaj, Harrison Fell, Nikki Luke, and Charles Sims.

More information and a link to registration can be found here.

Like what you've read?

Forward to a friend!

Don’t Miss Out on the Southeast’s Latest Entrepreneurial, Business, & Tech News!

Sign-up to get the Teknovation Newsletter in your inbox each morning!

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

No, thanks!