More additions to ORNL leadership team announced

Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) has announced more key leadership executives.

As previously noted but not officially announced, Alan Icenhour has been named ORNL’s Deputy Director for Operations where he will succeed Jeff Smith, who is retiring this spring after serving in the role since UT-Battelle began operating the lab in 2000. Icenhour led the Nuclear Science and Engineering Directorate from 2014 until the Isotopes Directorate was formed in October 2020. Here’s a link to the official news release.

Ken Andersen has been named Associate Laboratory Director for the Neutron Sciences Directorate. He joined ORNL one year ago from the European Spallation Source in Sweden, where he led the Neutron Instruments Division and oversaw the selection and construction of instruments from conceptual development through design, procurement, installation and commissioning. Andersen will succeed Paul Langan, who will join the Institute Laue Langevin, or ILL, in France as its new Director. Click here to review the news release.

Stay connected with us on Twitter and LinkedIn. Article ideas and other suggestions should be sent to Include the name and contact information (phone and email) for follow-up.