Life Science TN announces officers, directors for 2013

Life Science Tennessee has announced its new officers and Board of Directors members for 2013. Sam Lynch, President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Franklin-based BioMimetic, is the group’s new Chair. New board members from East Tennesseans are:

  • David Adair, Chief Science Officer, Chairman of the Board, and Founder, Glenveigh Medical in Chattanooga; and
  • Dave Washburn, Vice President, University of Tennessee Research Foundation (UTRF) in Knoxville.

Returning board members from East Tennessee include:

  • Tom Ballard, Director of Innovation and Entrepreneurial Initiatives, Pershing Yoakley & Associates;
  • Kim Denton, President, Oak Ridge Economic Partnership;
  • Jim Frierson, Tennessee Valley Energy;
  • Kelly Tiller, Ph.D., President and CEO, Genera Energy; and
  • Ken Woody, President, Innova.

The organization also created a new group called “Board Observers” and named three East Tennesseans to the inaugural class. They are:

  • Paul Fitzpatrick, CEO, Advanced Catheter Therapies;
  • Doug Grindstaff, CEO, Nusirt Sciences; and
  • Eric Latham, Founder and CEO, IPE, Inc.


Stay connected with us on Twitter and LinkedIn. Article ideas and other suggestions should be sent to Include the name and contact information (phone and email) for follow-up.